A day out on the Levels

19 May

I had a fantastic day out today visiting Ham Wall RSPB Reserve near Glastonbury.

The variety of wildlife and the relative ease to see some very scarce birds and insects was quite something.

In addition to the birds below, I also saw Marsh Harriers, Cetti’s Warblers, Cuckoo’s.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

While my photo’s won’t win awards – I hope I am getting better!! I was standing next to someone with a HUGE lens (600mm Canon prime lens) which, with the camera, weighed 10Kg’s. The lens and camera retail at £15,000. It did take a series of stunning photo’s of the Bitterns. Oh well – start saving up ………….

I would thoroughly recommend a visit. In the winter they have had flocks of Starlings up to 7 million strong!! And there is a great cycle way.

Leave a Reply

